The Anglican Church of Southern Africa

Geographical Area: 4,276,000 Sq Km

Population: 80,700,000


Archbishop of Capetown and Primate of Southern Africa
The Most Revd Dr Thabo Makgoba



The Province is the oldest in Africa. British Anglicans met for worship in Cape Town after 1806, with the first Bishop appointed in 1847. The twenty-eight dioceses of the Province extend beyond the Republic of South Africa and include the Foreign and Commonwealth Office (St. Helena and Tristan da Cunha), Mozambique (Lebombo and Niassa), the Republic of Namibia, the Kingdom of Lesotho, the Kingdom of Swaziland and Angola.

Provincial Secretary Login