The Church of the Province of Myanmar (Burma)

Geographical Area: 676,600 Sq Km

Population: 48,300,000


Archbishop of Myanmar and Bishop of Yangon
The Most Revd Stephen Than Myint Oo


Provincial Secretary
Mr Kyaw Myo Naing
Provincial Treasurer
Ms Helen Myint Htwe Yee
Theological Colleges


Anglican chaplains and missionaries worked in Burma in the early and mid-nineteenth century. The Province of Myanmar was formed in 1970, nine years after the declaration of Buddhism as the state religion and four years after all foreign missionaries were forced to leave.

Provincial Secretary Login