The Church of the Province of Central Africa

Geographical Area: 718,940 Sq Km

Population: 31,780,000


Archbishop of Central Africa and Bishop of Lusaka
The Most Revd Albert Chama



The Province includes Botswana, Malawi, Zambia, and Zimbabwe. The first Anglican missionary to Malawi was Bishop Charles Mackenzie, who arrived with David Livingstone in 1861. TheProvince was inaugurated in 1955 and has a movable bishopric. The countries forming the Province are very different. Zambia and Botswana suffer the difficulties of rapid industrialization, along with underdeveloped, thinly populated areas. In Malawi, 30 per cent of the adult males are away as migrant laborers in other countries at any given time. Zimbabwe is experiencing problems of social adjustment after independence.

Provincial Secretary Login