The Church of Ireland

Geographical Area: 70,270 Sq Km

Population: 3,800,000


Archbishop of Armagh and Primate of All Ireland and Metropolitan
The Most Revd John McDowell


Tracing its origins to Saint Patrick and his companions in the fifth century, the Irish Church has been marked by strong missionary efforts. In 1537, the English king was declared head of the Church, but most Irish Christians maintained loyalty to Rome. The Church of Ireland and the Church of England were formally united by the Act of Union 1800; the Irish Church Act 1869 dissolved this union and ensured that the Church of Ireland ceased to be an established Church. A General Synod of the Church, established in 1871 and consisting of Archbishops, Bishops, and representatives of the clergy and laity, has legislative and administrative power.

Provincial Secretary Login