The Church in the Province of the West Indies

Geographical Area: 276,910 Sq Km

Population: 5,320,600


Primate of the Church of the Province in the West Indies & Bishop of Jamaica & The Cayman Islands
The Most Revd Howard Gregory


The West Indies became a self-governing Province of the worldwide Anglican Communion in 1883 because of the Church of England missions in territories that became British colonies. It is made up of two mainland dioceses and six island dioceses, including Barbados, Belize, Guyana, Jamaica, Nassau and the Bahamas, Tobago, Trinidad, and the Windward Islands. Great emphasis is being placed on training personnel for an indigenous ministry. The island locations and scattered settlements make pastoral care difficult and costly.

Provincial Secretary Login