

Minutes of the Standing Committee meeting held at the Gold Coast Hotel, Hong Kong, 4 May 2019

Present:

President

The Most Revd and Rt Hon Justin Welby

Chair

The Most Revd Dr Paul Kwong

Vice Chair

Canon Margaret Swinson

Elected by the Primates' Meeting

The Most Revd Dr Richard Clarke The Church of Ireland

The Most Revd Suheil Dawani The Episcopal Church in Jerusalem & The Middle

East

The Most Revd Dr Philip Freier The Anglican Church of Australia

Representing the ACC

The Rt Revd Jane Alexander

Mr Alistair Dinnie

Mrs Joyce Haji Liundi

The Anglican Church of Canada

The Scottish Episcopal Church

The Anglican Church of Tanzania

Ms Basetsana Makena The Anglican Church of Southern Africa

Mr Jeroham Melendez Iglesia Anglicana de la Region Central de America

The Rt Revd Joel Waweru Mwangi The Anglican Church of Kenya

The Very Revd Hosam Naoum

The Episcopal Church in Jerusalem & the Middle

East

Secretary General

The Most Revd Dr Josiah Idowu-Fearon

ACO staff in attendance

Mr David White Chief Operating Officer

Mrs Stephanie Taylor, minutes Executive Officer & Information Manager to the

Instruments of Communion

Legal advisor

Mr Darren Oliver

Apologies

The Most Revd Julio Murray Thompson

Iglesia Anglicana de la Region Central de America

1. Opening prayer and welcome

The Most Revd Dr Paul Kwong welcomed members to the meeting. All members introduced themselves, and The Most Revd Dr Richard Clarke opened in prayer.

2. Register of Interests

Attention was drawn to the Register of Interests and of the need to review and update this regularly.

3. Code of Conduct Policy

The Code of Conduct Policy was noted.

4. Minutes of the previous meeting held – 27 April 2019

It was noted that the minutes of the previous meeting would be presented at the September 2019 meeting of the Standing Committee.

Action:

 Minutes of the meetings of the Standing Committee held in Hong Kong to be drafted, circulated prior to and formally presented at the September 2019 meeting of the Standing Committee. Action: Mrs Stephanie Taylor. Date: September 2019.

5. Legal matters

It was noted that Mrs Joyce Haji Liundi, Ms Basetsana Makena, and The Very Revd Hosam Naoum had been duly elected to the Standing Committee at the 17th meeting of the Anglican Consultative Council (ACC17).

New members were required to sign forms and give their consent to serve as members of the Committee (Trustees) and to declare any interests. Forms were provided for the purpose.

New members were to receive induction and briefing material relevant to their new role.

Action:

- Register of Interests, and Trustee Declarations to be completed by Mrs Haji Liundi, Ms Makena, and Dean Naoum, and appropriately recorded by the Executive Officer. Action: Mrs Stephanie Taylor. Date: May 2019.
- Induction and briefing material relevant to the role to be provided to Mrs Haji Liundi, Ms Makena, and Dean Naoum. Action: Mrs Stephanie Taylor. Date: July 2019.

6. Inter-Anglican Finance and Administration Committee membership

The Committee were to appoint members to fill vacancies on the Inter-Anglican Finance and Administration Committee (IAFAC) according to clauses 14.2 and 14.3 of the Constitution of the Anglican Consultative Council. Those currently serving on the IAFAC were requested to continue. The vacancies to be filled were as followed: one primate member to be elected from among the primate members of the Standing Committee; and one member to be elected from among those members elected by the Anglican Consultative Council (ACC).

It was agreed that the primate members of the Standing Committee would caucus separately and elect one of their number to the IAFAC.

From among the members elected by the ACC, Mrs Joyce Haji Liundi was elected to serve on the IAFAC.

The Chair of the ACC invited Canon Maggie Swinson to continue to serve as Chair of the IAFAC. It was agreed that the next meeting of the IAFAC would consider and appoint the Vice Chair.

Action:

- Primate members of the Standing Committee to elect one of their number to the IAFAC and inform the Executive Officer. Action: Primate members and Mrs Stephanie Taylor. Date: May/ June 2019.
- The IAFAC to consider and appoint a Vice Chair at its next meeting in September 2019. Action: Canon Maggie Swinson. Date: September 2019.
- The Executive Officer to update the records of Committee membership. **Action: Mrs Stephanie Taylor. Date: May/ June 2019.**

7. Anglican Centre in Rome

It was noted that the Committee was to appoint Governors to the Anglican Centre in Rome (ACR) subject to the adoption of new Articles of Association by the ACR at the next meeting of Governors in May 2019.

Members were reminded that at the Committee's previous meeting in April 2019, the Committee had appointed The Most Revd Dr Paul Kwong (currently an ACR Governor) to act as one of the ACC appointed representatives. The Committee had also agreed to consider a second appointment preferably a woman from the global South with a view to making its decision at the current meeting.

The Committee duly nominated Ms Louisa Mojela to join Archbishop Kwong as the two representative Governors appointed by the ACC Standing Committee. The nomination of Ms Mojela and appointment of Archbishop Kwong were to be made to the ACR upon the adoption of its new Articles.

Action:

 The nomination of Ms Mojela and appointment of Archbishop Kwong to be made to the ACR upon the adoption of its new Articles. Action: Mr David White. Date: May/June 2019.

8. Safe Church Commission

The Committee agreed terms of reference for the reconstituted Anglican Communion Safe Church Commission as set out in the Anglican Communion Safe Church Commission Report: Executive Summary (ACC17/11) at paragraph 36.

9. Next meeting

The next meeting was scheduled to take place by conference call on 19 September 2019. A review of lessons learnt from ACC17 was suggested. It was agreed that in the event of an urgent matter arising prior to the next meeting a telephone consultation would be arranged.

Actions:

• A review of lessons at learnt at ACC17 to be pursued. **Action: Canon Maggie Swinson, Mr David White, and Mrs Stephanie Taylor.**