ARCIC - Anglican–Roman Catholic International Commission


The Anglican - Roman Catholic International Commission was established by Archbishop of Canterbury Michael Ramsey and Pope Paul VI in 1967. Its terms of reference were established by the Malta Report in the following year and it has worked in two phases - 1970-1981, and 1983-2005.

The first phase of work was completed with the publication of the Final Report in 1981, dealing with three topics: The Eucharist, Ministry and Authority.

The second phase covered a more diverse range of topics including: Salvation and the Church, 1986; The Church as Communion, 1991; Life in Christ: Morals, Communion and the Church, 1993; The Gift of Authority, 1999, and culminating in the publication of Mary: Grace and Hope in Christ in 2005.

A preparatory commission for a third phase of ARCIC met in London in October 2007. ARCIC III met for the first time in Bose, Italy, in 2011, in 2012 in Hong Kong, 2013 Rio de Janeiro  and in Kwa-Zulu Natal in 2014.

ARCIC is working on the theme of the Church local and universal, and how the Church comes to discern right ethical teaching.

ARCIC II, Second Phase: 1983- 2005

Looking towards a Church Fully Reconciled ARCIC II

ARCIC I, First Phase: 1970-1981

Joint Preparatory Commission 1967-68