Commission Members

The ACSC Commissioners include scientists, theologians and church leaders from around the world. The ACSC alsos benefits from a representative group of bishops nominated by the primates of each of the 42 churches that make up the Anglican Communion.

Commissioners of the Anglican Communion Science Commission

The Rt Revd Dr Steven Croft, Bishop of Oxford (Co-Chair)

The Revd Professor Kwamena Sagoe, Head of Virology at the University of Ghana’s Department of Medical Microbiology (Co-Chair)

The Most Revd Dr Antje Jackelén, Archbishop of Uppsala and Primate of the Church of Sweden.

The Most Revd Linda Nicholls, Archbishop and Primate, Anglican Church of Canada

The Rt Revd Dr Emily Onyango, Assistant Bishop, Diocese of Bondo, Anglican Church of Kenya, previously professor at St Paul’s University, Limuru, Kenya.

The Rt Revd Dr Renta Nishihara, Bishop of Chubu, President of Rikkyo University, NSKK, Japan

The Rt Revd Dr Michael Beasley, Bishop of Bath and Wells, Church of England

The Rt Revd Dr Richard Cheetham, Co-Director of ECLAS (Equipping Christian Leadership in an Age of Science)

Professor Gustavo Assi, Professor in the Department of Naval Architecture and Ocean Engineering of the University of São Paulo and Counselor, Associação Brasileira de Cristãos na Ciência, Brazil

Dr Santa J. Ono, President, University of Michigan

Revd Canon Professor Jennifer Strawbridge, Associate Professor of New Testament Studies, University of Oxford, UK

Dr. Derrick Aarons MD, PhD, Ethics Consultant, The Caribbean Public Health Agency (CARPHA), Jamaica, West Indies

Dr Heather Payne, consultant paediatrician and Senior Medical Officer for the Welsh Government, UK

Professor Andrew Briggs, Professor of Nanomaterials, University of Oxford and director of the Anglican Communion Science Commission Project 


The Rt Revd Dr Joseph Galgalo, Provincial Secretary, Anglican Church of Kenya, Assistant Bishop in All Saints Cathedral Diocese and former Vice Chancellor and Associate Professor of Theology at Saint Paul’s University, Limuru, Kenya

The Revd Canon Rachel Carnegie, Executive Director of the Anglican Alliance, Anglican Communion Office, London

The Revd Canon Dr Stephen Spencer, Director for Theological Education, Anglican Communion Office, London, and ACSC Liaison with the Anglican Consultative Council

The Rt Revd Ian Ernest G.C.S.K, Director Anglican Centre in Rome and Personal Representative of the Archbishop of Canterbury to the Holy See

Eamonn Mullally, representative of the Bishops’ Spouses Conference within the Lambeth Conference 2022

Bishops representing member Churches of the Anglican Communion (Lead Science Bishops)

The Most Revd Dr Samy Fawzy, Bishop of Egypt and Primate of the Episcopal/Anglican Province of Alexandria

The Rt Revd Nicholas Knisely, Bishop of Rhode Island, The Episcopal Church

The Rt Revd Patteson Worek, Bishop of Banks and Torres, Republic of Vanuatu, The Anglican Church of Melanesia

The Rt Revd Dr Dickson Chilongani, Bishop of Central Tanganyika, The Anglican Church of Tanzania

The Rt Revd Dr K Reuben Mark, Bishop of Karimnagar Diocese, The Church of South India

The Rt Revd Ross Bay, Bishop of Auckland, The Anglican Church of Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia

The Rt Revd Shourabh Pholia, Bishop of Barisal, The Church of Bangladesh

The Rt Revd Dr Matt Brain, Bishop of Bendigo, The Anglican Church of Australia

The Rt Revd Geoffrey Woodcroft, Bishop of Rupert’s Land, The Anglican Church of Canada

The Rt Revd Ian Ellis, Bishop of Clogher, The Church of Ireland

The Rt Revd Mauricio de Andrade, Bishop of Brasilia, Igreja Episcopal Anglicana do Brasil

The Rt Revd Dr Timothy Kwok, Bishop of Eastern Kowloon, Hong Kong Sheng Kung Hui

The Rt Revd Ricardo J. Gómez-Osnaya, Bishop of Western Mexico, La Iglesia Anglicana de Mexico

The Rt Revd Andrew Swift, Bishop of Brechin, The Scottish Episcopal Church

The Rt Revd Philip Wright, Bishop of the Diocese of Belize, Church of the Province of the West Indies

The Most Revd Brian Williams, Bishop of Argentina, Anglican Church of South America

The Rt Revd Luke Pretorius, Bishop of St Mark the Evangelist, Anglican Church of Southern Africa

The Rt Revd Bertin Subi, Bishop of Katanga Diocese, Anglican Church of Congo

The Rt Revd Evariste Nijimbere, Diocese of Buhiga, Anglican Church of Burundi 

The Rt Reverend Sergio Bambo, Anglican Missionary Diocese of Tete, Igreja Anglicana de Moçambique e Angola

The Rt Revd Hilary Ayban Pasikan, Jr, Bishop of Northern Luzon, Episcopal Church in the Philippines

The Rt Revd Osiward Mapika, Bishop of Masvingo, The Church of the Province of Central Africa

The Rt Revd Titus Kim Ho-Wook, Bishop of Daejeon, The Anglican Church of Korea

The Rt Revd Reginald Makele, Bishop of New Guinea Islands, The Anglican Church of Papua New Guinea

The Rt Revd Kwame Kyem-Ampomah, Bishop of Wiawso, The Church of the Province of West Africa

The Rt Revd Anthony Ling, Bishop of Banks and Torres, The Anglican Church of Melanesia

The Rt Revd Mary Stallard, Bishop of Llandaff, The Church in Wales

ECLAS Project

ECLAS Project

The Anglican Communion Science Commission works in close partnership with the ECLAS project which has considerable expertise in the connections between faith and science. ECLAS has many years’ experience in working with senior Church leaders, and through their support, has facilitated dozens of science-based projects in churches.

Learn more