Provincial Directory: Church of the Province of South East Asia


Map and Statistics

Geographical Area:329,800 Sq Km


The Anglican Church in South East Asia was originally under the jurisdiction of the Bishop of Calcutta, India. The first chaplaincy was formed in West Malaysia in 1805; the first bishop was consecrated in 1855. The Diocese of Labuan, Sarawak, and Singapore was formed in 1881, dividing in 1909, 1962, and 1970. Until the inauguration of the Church of the Province of South East Asia, the four dioceses (Kutching, Sabah, Singapore, and West Malaysia) were under the jurisdiction of the Archbishop of Canterbury. Although the Province exists under the restrictions of a Muslim government, the Church has experienced spiritual renewal and has sent out its own mission partners to various parts of the world.


Primate:The Most Revd Bolly Lapok

Provincial Secretary: Mr Leonard David Shim

Provincial Treasurer: Mr Keith Chua


West Malaysia

More information & links within Church of the Province of South East Asia:

Mission Organisations
Theological Colleges
Religious Communites