Provincial Directory: The Episcopal Church in Jerusalem & The Middle East


Map and Statistics

Geographical Area:8,667,920 Sq Km


The Church covers Jerusalem, Iran, Egypt, Cyprus, and the Gulf. The Jerusalem bishopric was founded in 1841 and became an archbishopric in 1957. Reorganization in January 1976 ended the archbishopric and combined the Diocese of Jordan, Lebanon, and Syria with the Jerusalem bishopric after a nineteen-year separation. Around the same time, the new Diocese of Cyprus and the Gulf was formed and the Diocese of Egypt was revived. The Cathedral Church of St George the Martyr in Jerusalem is known for its ministry to pilgrims. St George's College, Jerusalem, is in partnership with the Anglican Communion.


Primate:The Most Revd Dr Mouneer Hanna Anis

Provincial Secretary: Ms Georgia Katsantonis

Provincial Treasurer: The Ven Canon William Schwartz


Cyprus and the Gulf

More information & links within The Episcopal Church in Jerusalem & The Middle East:

Theological Colleges