Provincial Directory: The Church of Ireland


Map and Statistics

Geographical Area:70,270 Sq Km


Tracing its origins to St. Patrick and his companions in the fifth century, the Irish Church has been marked by strong missionary efforts. In 1537, the English king was declared head of the Church, but most Irish Christians maintained loyalty to Rome. The Irish Church Act of 1869 provided that the statutory union between the Churches of England and Ireland be dissolved and that the Church of Ireland should cease to be established by law. A General Synod of the Church, established in 1890 and consisting of Archbishops, Bishops, and representatives of the clergy and laity, has legislative and administrative power.


Primate:The Most Revd Dr Richard Lionel Clarke

Provincial Secretary: Mr Adrian Clements

Website:The Church of Ireland


Alphabetically View alphabetically. Provinces View by Province.
Cashel & Ossory
Cork, Cloyne & Ross
Derry & Raphoe
Down & Dromore
Dublin & Glendalough
Kilmore, Elphin & Ardagh
Limerick & Killaloe
Meath & Kildare
Tuam, Killala & Achonry

More information & links within The Church of Ireland:

Mission Organisations
Theological Colleges
Religious Communites