Portal Home Page Provincial News Home Email this Page Printable Version RSS Feed

  Other Articles from THIS province
  News by Regions
and Provinces
Melanesian Messenger Online distributed by the
Church of the Province of Melanesia
Bishop David Vunagi
COM Media
Photo No. : P080505-1
Click for enlarged photo

Bishop of Temotu's Episcopal term extended
May 5, 2008

[Melanesian Messenger - Melanesia] 
Bishop of the Diocese of Temotu the Rt Rev. David Vunagi's Episcopal term has been extended for another five years when his retirement is due.

Bishop Vunagi is due to retire on the 5th September 2010 when he turns 60 years as required by the Church Constitution. However the 16th Diocesan Synod held at Luova at Lata in April 2008 has agreed to extend the Bishops office until September 2015.

The Synod felt that the Bishop has in the last seven years exemplified able and visionary leadership that resulted in sound development of the diocese in terms of finance, human resource development both spiritual and intellectual, spiritual growth and social development of the diocese.

As a symbol of unity the Bishop has shown a true way of service to his people amidst social, cultural and spiritual challenges and difficulties in a diocese so remote and diverse.

Bishop Vunagi welcome the decision and accepted the extension of his Episcopal office on a provisional basis only due to other personal reasons. He however said, he is looking forward to this time to work on some projects and programmes he felt still needs time to accomplish.

He thanked the clergy and people of Temotu for the trust and confidence they placed on him to continue with the work as a shepherd of the Diocese.

Meanwhile Bishop Vunagi and his wife Mary will be taking a Sabbatical leave to Rome for two and half months from 25th May 2008. From Rome they will be joining other Bishops from Melanesia and their wives and Bishops and Primates of the wider Anglican Communion at the 2008 Lamberth Conference in London, England.

They will return to the country in August 2008 after the Conference.